Posts Tagged ‘databases’

Open Access Resources

Wednesday, October 19th, 2011

In celebration of Open Access Week from October 24-30, 2011, we invite you to learn more about open access resources and open educational resources. We have a Research Guide on the topic of open access and scholarly communication issues. There is a growing movement of scholars who desire to have their work accessible to a wider audience through Open Access (OA) methods.  Some authors understand that more visibility and greater citations come with greater access to their works.

There are two main avenues for providing greater access to journal articles, books and book chapters.   Many scholarly articles are provided in an open access format from the publisher.  The publishers of these journals do not charge readers or subscribers to read their content.  They receive funding through other means.  The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a great place to find freely available scholarly articles and journals.

Scholarly authors can also archive their work in local digital repositories, such as Peak Digital.  However, the publishers of articles have different restrictions.  Some publishers allow the authors to post the PDF versions of articles, while other publishers only allow the pre-print or post-print versions to be posted to a local website.  Authors can check for various publisher restrictions at the SHERPA/RoMEO database.

Some publishers provide free backfile access to their articles, but they limit current content to subscribers.  Many of the publishers at Highwire Press provide free access to older articles in this fashion.

Most scholarly authors are concerned about citations to their work, and one of the measures of the quality of a journal is the “Impact Factor”.  This number is calculated by Thomson Reuters using data derived in their Web of Knowledge product.  They publish impact factors in the Journal Citation Reports.  As more and more authors and readers find, use and cite OA content, then they will receive higher impact factors.  Most of the major article indexing databases (such as the Web of Science) include many OA journals.  The world’s largest journal is also an OA journal, PLoS ONE, and that journal has a solid impact factor.

Sign-up for a Spring Research Workshop!

Tuesday, March 22nd, 2011

Each quarter the reference librarians at Penrose offer a number of free general workshops on a variety of topics. This Spring quarter, we are offering worshops on finding books and articles, using Google, finding and citing images, making bibliographies with RefWorks, locating grant information, citation searching, and understanding journal impact factors.

Workshops are open to current DU students, faculty, and staff. Workshops take place in the Research Instruction Room on the main floor of Penrose Library, or online through Adobe Connect. Online workshops are specifically noted. If you sign up for an online workshop, you will receive information via email on how to access the virtual classroom.  Questions can be directed to Carrie Forbes at carrie.forbes@du.edu.

To see the complete schedule and register for a workshop, please see http://tinyurl.com/PenroseResearchWorkshops.

Database Changes over the Summer

Tuesday, September 7th, 2010

We subscribe to hundreds of databases, and some of the major database vendors changed their interfaces over the Summer.  In other words, they have a different look and feel.  Below are some of the changes.

Prospector has a new search screen.  Keyword searching should be faster and bring back more relevant results to the top.

EBSCO changed the way results are retrieved.  All of their databases, such as Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete and others will return results in relevance order.  Thus, older articles may appear above more recent articles.

Lexis-Nexis has a different search screen.

JSTOR has a new interface.

In addition to these, many journal publishers also changed the design of their websites.  Some of them are Springer, Elsevier ScienceDirect and John Wiley.

Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns about the changes publishers made over the summer.

Joe

Career Insider (powered by vault)

Tuesday, July 13th, 2010


Career Insider, formerly known as Vault Online, provides a rich array of career resources. The list includes a searchable interface to find jobs, resources for researching companies and industries, career advice, and downloadable guides that discuss a wide range of careers as well as how to write resumes. You will have to register before using this source. You can find Career Insider in the Penrose Library database listings. (These are our databases that begin with “C”. Scroll down until you see Career Insider.)

Trial Databases

Monday, March 29th, 2010

Please take a look at our trial databases.

Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion.”

We also have a couple days left for the trial of the  Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL). This database “provides access to hundreds of data sets. Examples include the HIV/AIDS and STD Data Archive, Data Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (DAAPPP), Data Archive of Social Research on Aging (DASRA), The American Family Data Archive (AFDA), Child Well-Being and Poverty Data Archive (CWP), Research Archive on Disability in the U.S. (RADIUS), and the Maternal Drug Abuse (MDA).” The trial for this ends March 31st.