Penrose Library   University of Denver
Penrose Home / Finding What You Need / Services / About the Library / What’s New  
Printable View

Treaty Resources

Treaties and other international agreements can be very interesting, but also very challenging to locate. This guide will assist you in finding treaty resources in Penrose Library, the Law Library, and on the Internet.
Treaty Finding AidsTreaty Compilations

Treaty Finding Aids
Treaties in Force: A List of Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States in Force
See PEAK Catalog
Docs Stacks; Most recent in Ready Reference Docs
S 9.14:
Lists treaties in force on January 1 of given year. Current year is available online. Divided into bilateral and multilateral agreements.

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements Cumulative Index 1776-1949
See PEAK Catalog
Reference Stacks
JX231 .A341
This four volume index lists historic treaties in standard numerical orders, in chronological order, by country, and by subject.

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements Cumulative Index 1950-1970
See PEAK Catalog
Reference Stacks
JX231.A342

Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
See PEAK Catalog
Books Upper Level; Recent in Reference
JX170 .U37

World Treaty Index http://depts.washington.edu/hrights/Treaty/trindex.html
Indexes over 55,000 20th century treaties, including the United Nations Treaty Series and other sources.


Treaty Compilations
Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols, and Agreements between the United States of America and Other Powers
See PEAK Catalog
Docs Stacks
S 9.6:
Compiled by William M. Malloy from 1910 through 1938, this compilation covers treaties issued from 1776 to 1937.

Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States of America
See PEAK Catalog
Docs Stacks
S 9.5/1:
Referred to as "Miller."

Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949
See PEAK Catalog
Docs Stacks
S 9.12/2:
13 volume set compiles treaties to which U.S. was party from 1776-1949. Usually referred to as "Bevans", the name of the compiler.

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
See PEAK Catalog
Docs Stacks
S 9.12:
Prior to 1950 treaties were printed in United States Statutes at Large (and preceding titles). In 1950 the United States began compiling treaties in this large multi-volume set. Unfortunately, new volumes are slow to be published. The set is only up to 1984.

United Nations Treaty Collection

To begin, click the "Access to Databases" link at the bottom of the initial page.

Major sections of this collection include Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General, United Nations Treaty Series (14 December 1946 - recent), League of Nations Treaty Series (5 July 1920 - 3 October 1944), and Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties.

Publicly Available
Content types:  Full Text  


Unperfected Treaties of the United States of America, 1776-1976
See PEAK Catalog
Books Upper Level
JX236 1776.U56 v. 1-9
Unperfected treaties are those which were never signed or otherwise never went into force. this 9-volume set is a valuable tool for historic unperfected treaties.

Treaty series / United Nations
See PEAK Catalog
Storage Mary Reed Building
JX170 .U35
Penrose Library owns most volumes from v.1 (1947/47) through 1985. The Law Library has the entire set on microfiche.

International Legal Materials http://0-heinonline.org.bianca.penlib.du.edu/HeinContent/CollectionIndex.php3?journal=intlm
Hein Online coverage of ILM is available from v.1 (1962) through recent years. ILM compiles contemporary treaties as well as judicial proceedings and other materials.

Treaty Series / League of Nations
See PEAK Catalog
Storage Mary Reed Building
JX170 .L4
Penrose owns most volumes of this historic 205 volume set.



Christopher Brown
Reference Librarian/Government Documents Librarian
303.871.3404
Christopher.Brown@du.edu
http://www.du.edu/~cbrown/
Copyright University of Denver, Penrose Library, 02-Sep-03
PEAK Quick Search


Quick Links

View your account or renew books on My PEAK

Ask a research question

Ask a question

Search Prospector

Search WorldCat

Request items through Interlibrary Loan

Suggest a library purchase

Report Problems / Offer feedback

Site Map