Penrose Library   University of Denver
Penrose Home / Finding What You Need / Services / About the Library / What’s New  
Printable View

Superintendent of Documents Classification System

In Penrose Library the government documents are shelved according to the Superintendent of Documents Classification System. This system, developed by the Government Printing Office between 1895 and 1903, arranges documents not bu subject, but by the government corporate author (issuing agency, department, etc.). An advantage to this system is that all publications issued by a particular office can be found together in one place. However, when an agency if reorganized, it is likely that the SuDocs call number will change.

Before online catalogs, this problem was a serious detriment to the Sudocs system; but modern online catalogs, such as Peak, are able to keep track of call number classification changes.

Online GuidesPrint GuidesSuDocs as Used in Penrose Library

Online Guides
An Explanation of the Superintendent of Documents Classification System http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/pubs/explain.html
This helpful background information comes from the Federal Depository Library Program of the Government Printing Office.


Print Guides
Guide to U.S. Government Publications
See PEAK Catalog
Ready Reference
Z1223.Z7 A574
Formerly known as "Andriot" because of its long-time editor, this work is the single best resource for tracking past and current SuDocs stems and stem changes.

Checklist of United States Public Documents 1789-1909
See PEAK Catalog
Reference Docs
GP 3.2:C 41/2
This is the best way to find out retrospectively assigned SuDocs call numbers from 1789-1909.


SuDocs as Used in Penrose Library
The following delineates the Superintendent of Documents stems used in Penrose Library.
A http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/A.cfm
Department of Agriculture (1862- )

AC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/AC.cfm
Arms Control and Disarmament Agency (1961- )

AA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/AA.cfm
ACTION (1971-1994)

AE http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/AE.cfm
National Archives (1934- )

AR http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/AR.cfm
International Bureau of the American Republics

B http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/B.cfm
Broadcasting Board of Governors/International Broadcasting Bureau

C http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/C.cfm
Department of Commerce (1913- ); includes Census Bureau

CAB http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/CAB.cfm
Civil Aeronautics Board (1978-1985)

CC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/CC.cfm
Federal Communications Commission (1934- )

CR http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/CR.cfm
United States Commission on Civil Rights (1957- )

CS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/CS.cfm
Civil Service Commission (1883-1979)

CSA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/CSA.cfm
Community Services Administration (1974-1981)

CZ http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/CZ.cfm
Canal Zone Government (1951-1979)

D http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/D.cfm
Department of Defense (1949- )

DC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/DC.cfm
District of Columbia

E http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/E.cfm
Department of Energy (1977- )

EB http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/EB.cfm
Bureau of Efficiency (1916-1933)

EC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/EC.cfm
Employees' Compensation Commission (1916-1946)

ED http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/ED.cfm
Department of Education (1979- )

EP http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/EP.cfm
Environmental Protection Agency (1970- )

ER http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/ER.cfm
Energy Research and Development Administration (1975-1977)

FA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FA.cfm
Commission of Fine Arts (1910- )

FAA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FAA.cfm
Federal Aviation Agency (1958-1967)

FC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FC.cfm
Fish and Fisheries Commission (1880-1903)

FCA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FCA.cfm
Farm Credit Administration (1933-1939, 1953- )

FCD http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FCD.cfm
Federal Civil Defense Administration (1951-1958)

FE http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FE.cfm
Federal Energy Administration (1974-1977)

FEM http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FEM.cfm
Federal Emergency Management Agency (1979- )

FHF http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FHF.cfm
Federal Housing Finance Board (1989- )

FHL http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FHL.cfm
Federal Home Loan Bank Board (1955-1989)

FL http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FL.cfm
Federal Housing Administration (1939-1942)

FM http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FM.cfm
Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (1947- )

FMC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FMC.cfm
Federal Maritime Commission (1961- )

FO http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FO.cfm
Foreign Operations Administration (1953-1955)

FP http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FP.cfm
Federal Power Commission (1920-1977)

FPI http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FPI.cfm
Federal Prison Industries, Inc. (1934-1939)

FR http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FR.cfm
Federal Reserve System Board of Governors (1935- )

FS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FS.cfm
Department of Health, Education and Welfare, etc. (1939-1969)

FT http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FT.cfm
Federal Trade Commission (1914- )

FTZ http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FTZ.cfm
Foreign-Trade Zones Board (1934- )

FW http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/FW.cfm
Federal Works Agency (1939-1949)

GA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/GA.cfm
General Accounting Office (1921- )

GB http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/GB.cfm
Geographic Board (1906-1934)

GP http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/GP.cfm
Government Printing Office/Superintendent of Documents (1895- )

GS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/GS.cfm
General Services Administration (1949- )

HE http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/HE.cfm
Department of Health and Human Services (1980- )

HH http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/HH.cfm
Department of Housing and Urban Development (1965- )

HS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/HS.cfm
Department of Homeland Security (2003- )

I http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/I.cfm
Department of the Interior (1849- )

IA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/IA.cfm
United States Information Agency (1953-1978, 1982-1999)

IC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/IC.cfm
Interstate Commerce Commission (1987-1995)

ICA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/ICA.cfm
International Communication Agency (1978-1982)

ITC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/ITC.cfm
United States International Trade Commission (1981- )

J http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/J.cfm
Department of Justice (1870- )

JU http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/JU.cfm
U.S. Courts

L http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/L.cfm
Department of Labor (1913- )

LA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/LA.cfm
Bureau of Labor (1888-1903)

LC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/LC.cfm
Library of Congress (1800- )

LR http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/LR.cfm
National Labor Relations Board (1935- )

M http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/M.cfm
National Military Establishment (1947-1949)

MB http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/MB.cfm
Board of Mediation (1926-1934)

MC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/MC.cfm
Maritime Commission (1936-1950)

MCB http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/MCB.cfm
Board of Mediation and Concilation (1913-1921)

MS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/MS.cfm
Merit Systems Protection Board (1979- )

N http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/N.cfm
Department of the Navy (1798-1947)

NA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NA.cfm
National Academy of Sciences (1863- )

NAS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NAS.cfm
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (1958- )

NC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NC.cfm
National Capital Planning Commission (1952- )

NCU http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NCU.cfm
National Credit Union Administration (1970- )

NF http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NF.cfm
National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities (1965- )

NHA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NHA.cfm
National Housing Agency (1942-1947)

NMB http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NMB.cfm
National Mediation Board (1934- )

NMC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NMC.cfm
National Munitions Control Board (1936-1940)

NS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/NS.cfm
National Science Foundation (1950- )

OP http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/OP.cfm
Overseas Private Investment Corporation (1969- )

P http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/P.cfm
United States Postal Service (1970- )

PA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/PA.cfm
Pan American Union

PAC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/PAC.cfm
Canal Zone

PE http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/PE.cfm
Peace Corps (1982- )

PM http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/PM.cfm
Office of Personnel Management (1979- )

PR http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/PR.cfm
President of the United States

PREX http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/PREX.cfm
Executive Office of the President (1961- )

PRVP http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/PRVP.cfm
Vice President of the United States

PS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/PS.cfm
Postal Savings System (1910-1966)

RC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/RC.cfm
Federal Radio Commission (1927-1934)

RL http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/RL.cfm
Railroad Labor Board (1920-1926)

RNB http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/RNB.cfm
Renegotiation Board (1951-1979)

RR http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/RR.cfm
Railroad Retirement Board (1935- )

S http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/S.cfm
Department of State (1789- )

SB http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/SB.cfm
Shipping Board (1916-1933)

SBA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/SBA.cfm
Small Business Administration (1953- )

SE http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/SE.cfm
Securities and Exchange Commission (1934- )

SI http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/SI.cfm
Smithsonian Institution (1846- )

SS http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/SS.cfm
Social Security Board (1935-1939)

SSA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/SSA.cfm
Social Security Administration (1995- )

T http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/T.cfm
Department of the Treasury (1789- )

TC http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/TC.cfm
International Trade Commission (1974-1981)

TD http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/TD.cfm
Department of Transportation (1966- )

TDA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/TDA.cfm
U.S. Trade and Development Agency

VA http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/VA.cfm
Department of Veterans Affairs (1930- )

VE http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/VE.cfm
Federal Board for Vocational Education (1917-1933)

W http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/W.cfm
Department of War (1789-1947)

X http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/X.cfm
Congress

Y http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/Y.cfm
Congress (except Y 3 and Y 4)

Y 3 http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/Y3.cfm
Congress: Commissions, Committees, Boards

Y 4 http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/Y4.cfm
Congress: Hearings, Committee Prints, Publications

Z http://library.du.edu/About/collections/GovernmentDocuments/browse/Z.cfm
Continental Congress Papers



Christopher Brown
Reference Librarian/Government Documents Librarian
303.871.3404
Christopher.Brown@du.edu
http://www.du.edu/~cbrown/
Copyright University of Denver, Penrose Library, 30-Aug-03
PEAK Quick Search


Quick Links

View your account or renew books on My PEAK

Ask a research question

Ask a question

Search Prospector

Search WorldCat

Request items through Interlibrary Loan

Suggest a library purchase

Report Problems / Offer feedback

Site Map