Penrose Library   University of Denver
Penrose Home / Finding What You Need / Services / About the Library / What’s New  
Printable View

Cool Tools with Library Applications

Provides software tools that can be used for academic purposes.
Software ToolsCitation and Reference Management

Software Tools
Add This http://www.addthis.com


Friendfeed.com/dupenrose http://friendfeed.com/dupenrose


Flickr.com/dupenrose http://www.flickr.com/photos/dupenrose


Twitter.com/dupenrose http://www.twitter.com/dupenrose

We will be sending out announcements and news through our twitter account. Please follow us on twitter.

Facebook Page for Penrose http://www.facebook.com/dupenrose

When you become a "fan" of Penrose, you can receive automatic updates concerning major resources and events.

URL for Mobile Devices (Beta) http://mysite.du.edu/~jokraus/test/m.html

This is a beta version of a URL for a mobile page. [Thanks to Scott Beale at Laughing Squid for the pic.]

WorldCat Tools http://www.worldcat.org/default.jsp


The WorldCat Database has many interesting tools, such as:

Penrose iGoogle Gadget http://tinyurl.com/Peak-for-iGoogle

We now have an iGoogle Gadget so that you can easily search the Penrose Library catalog, Peak from your iGoogle portal.

LibX Toolbars for IE and Firefox http://libx.org/

LibX University of Denver Penrose Library Edition is a browser extension for both Internet Explorer and for Firefox. This is not supported by Penrose faculty and staff. It provides direct access to your Library's resources with features, such as:
  • Toolbar & right-click context menu: Search your library catalog directly from the LibX toolbar or using the right-click context menu.
  • Quick full text access to journal articles: LibX uses Google Scholar to search for articles and directs the user to the electronic copy subscribed to by your Library. Select a citation, then drag-and-drop it onto the Scholar button on the toolbar.
  • Support for embedded cues: LibX places cues in web pages you visit if your library has resources related to that page. Whenever you see the "L" cue, click on the link to look at what the Library has to offer. For instance, book pages at Amazon or Barnes & Noble will contain cues that link to the book's entry in the Penrose Peak catalog.


Blog for Science and Engineering Resources http://sci-eng-penrose.blogspot.com/

This will update patrons of the Penrose Library at the University of Denver about new science and engineering resources and other developments.



Penrose in Second Life http://slurl.com/secondlife/science%20school/177/78/26/

Penrose has a small information kiosk in SecondLife. It is in the middle of the University of Denver section of the Science School.

Web 2.0 Wiki http://allianceroundtable.pbwiki.com/
This lists what other libraries in the area are doing.

LexisNexis®Academic Subscriber Tools (Beta) http://amdev.net/


Students and Faculty can use these tools to create several types of URLs that are suitable for use in course syllabi, assignments, research guides, and bookmarks, such as:
  • Article-level durable links to specific full-text documents
  • Source-level durable links to search within specific LexisNexis sources
  • URLs that function as saved searches



Citation and Reference Management
RefWorks: Personal Database and Bibliography Creator
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography manager. Use it to keep track of books, reports, and journal articles and then to create your finished bibliographies in APA, MLA, or Chicago styles. To get started you will need to create your own account. Click on the link from within RefWorks: "Sign up for an Individual Account."

There is a mobile method of access.

Need further assistance? See the RefWorks Tutorial

NOTE: Off-campus users need to know and use the University of Denver group code: RWUdenver

University of Denver Community
Content types:  Abstracts  
RefGrabIt http://www.refworks.com/Refworks/BookMarklet.asp
RefGrab-It works with your RefWorks account to capture bibliographic information from web pages giving you the option to directly import that data. If an ISBN number, PubMed ID or DOI exist on the web page, RefGrab-It will automatically search various web resources to get supplemental information that may be of interest to you. RefWorks may also locate RSS feeds related to that web page. When you use RefGrab-It on a web page, it automatically opens a "temporary results page" in a new window. You can view the information and additional resources first, then decide if you want to import the data.

Zotero http://www.zotero.com
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself. This does not work with Internet Explorer. Since this is freely available, it is not supported by Penrose faculty and staff.

PubMed (Mobile) http://pubmedhh.nlm.nih.gov/nlmd/pubmed/index.html
Search the world's largest medical library.

Mendeley Desktop http://www.mendeley.com/
Mendeley Desktop is academic software that indexes and organizes all of your PDF documents and research papers into your own personal digital bibliography.

Connotea http://www.connotea.org/
Saving references in Conntoea is quick and easy. You can do it by saving a link to a web page for the reference, whether it is a PubMed entry, a publisher's PDF, or even an Amazon product page for a book. Connotea will, wherever possible, recognize the reference and automatically add in the bibliographic information for you. You can also assign keywords (or tags) to your references. Since this is freely available, it is not supported by Penrose faculty and staff.

My EndNote Web https://www.myendnoteweb.com/EndNoteWeb/2.1/release/EndNoteWeb.html
When you register for EndNote Web (on campus use only), you can take advantage of these features:
  • Use Cite While You Write™ in Microsoft® Word to easily cite references in your paper
  • Transfer references to and from EndNote on your desktop
  • Share references with others who have EndNote Web
Since the University of Denver is an ISI Web of Knowledge subscriber, you can also take advantage of these features:
  • Citation Alerts
  • Saved Searches
  • Custom Journal Lists and Table of Content Alerts
  • Custom ISI Web of Knowledge start page


Citeulike http://www.citeulike.org
CiteULike is a free service to help you to store, organize and share the scholarly papers you are reading. When you see a paper on the web that interests you, you can click one button and have it added to your personal library. CiteULike automatically extracts the citation details, so there's no need to type them in yourself. It all works from within your web browser so there's no need to install any software. Because your library is stored on the server, you can access it from any computer with an Internet connection.

Delicious http://www.delicious.com
"Delicious is the web’s quintessential bookmarking site and their Firefox extension is a must-have for anyone who uses it." Quote is from Mashable.



Joe Kraus
Science & Engineering Librarian
303.871.4586
Joseph.Kraus@du.edu
http://www.du.edu/~jokraus
Copyright University of Denver, Penrose Library, 21-Mar-08
PEAK Quick Search


Quick Links

View your account or renew books on My PEAK

Ask a research question

Ask a question

Search Prospector

Search WorldCat

Request items through Interlibrary Loan

Suggest a library purchase

Report Problems / Offer feedback

Site Map