| Library Catalogs |
|
| Peak: The Library Catalog |
http://catalog.du.edu/
Search for books, periodical titles (not specific article titles), government documents, maps, videos, and much more.
|
| Prospector |
http://prospector.coalliance.org/
Search beyond Penrose Library: Prospector is a union catalog of over 16 academic and public libraries in Colorado. Books can be borrowed through Prospector and picked up at the Penrose circulation desk.
|
|
|
| Databases |
|
Academic Search Complete
|
Provides full text coverage for more than 3,430 general and scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Abstracts :
Selected Full Text
Coverage: Click here to show
|
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
|
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Sources include working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Full Text
|
United Nations Official Documents System
|
Provides searching and retrieval of bibliographic records and full text of major portions of UN documents. ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. The documents and official records are stored in the official languages of the United Nations: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.
Publicly Available
Content types:
Full Text
Coverage: Click here to show
|
LexisNexis Congressional
|
Provides full coverage of U.S. federal legislative activity from 1789 to present. This sources indexes the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Also available are the full text of bills starting in 1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in 1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record starting in 1985, Federal Register starting in 1980, National Journal starting in 1977 and other U.S. government information. As of 2006 also includes full text of Congressional Information Service (CRS) reports.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Full Text :
Index :
Selected Full Text
|
LexisNexis CRS Reports
|
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) was established within the Library of Congress to provide members, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues.
Currently, the CRS research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. Many CRS reports are updated at varying intervals, so it is always important to note the exact date of issuance rather than just the title and the year of publication.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Full Text
|
LexisNexis Committee Prints
|
The official committee prints publication category began when committees started to issue printed versions of their own internal working papers. Today, committee prints include a wide variety of publications approved and issued by committees or portions of committees, such as majority or minority staff. Prints issued by only a portion of the committee are normally identified as such on the cover.
A committee print can contain anything relevant to the legislative and oversight functions of Congress. The print content varies widely from committee to committee, and over the course of time the function and format have been inconsistent. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses. Many committee prints may best be described as reports, but these reports should not be confused with reports that are numbered as official House or Senate reports.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Full Text
|
LexisNexis Digital Hearings
|
When complete this digital collection will contain digital versions of U.S. congressional hearings from 1824 to recent years. The Digital Hearings consist of three parts:
- Retrospective A (years: 1824-1979) Available so far: 1971-1979 only
- Retrospective B (years: 1980-2003) Available so far: 1980-1996 only
- Prospective C (years: 2004-) All available now.
If you do not find the desired hearing in the digital hearings collection, you can search the entire indexing of hearings using LexisNexis Congressional. If the hearing you want is not available online, or is not available through Pascal remote storage, the DU Law Library may have the hearing in their microfiche collection.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Full Text
|
Homeland Security Digital Library
|
A product of the Naval Postgraduate School, Center for Homeland Defense and Security, this database is a portal to material that can be found in other databases (Congressional Research Service reports, GAO reports and testimony, DTIC documents, RAND publications) as well as materials not easily located in other places, such as thesis from the Naval Postgraduate School. Material is organized using a unique homeland security taxonomy.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Full Text
|
PAIS International
|
Public Affairs Information Service contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Our subscription now includes the PAIS Archive as well, with coverage back to 1915, the beginning of the print index.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Abstracts
|
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
|
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Abstracts
Coverage: Click here to show
|
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
|
This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. This resource will be released in three phases between 2007 and 2009.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Full Text
|
Slavery in America
|
Sources in U.S. History Online is a series of archival digital collections intended for public library patrons as well as high school and community college students. The Slavery in America digital collection contains more than 600 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, monographs, sermons, and political speeches--enabling students, faculty and patrons to study the institution of slavery from the 17th century through the end of the 19th century.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Full Text
|
Human Rights Watch Publications
|
Reports on human rights violations and conditions around the world. Reports cover countries and specific issues. Penrose has many of these reports, including some that are not available on the HRW Web site, on microfiche.
Publicly Available
Content types:
Selected Full Text
|
GEOBASE
|
Provides information about geographic and some geologic journal articles, books, chapters, conference proceedings, and reports. Includes over 1 million records with abstracts. Some subjects include: cartography, climatology, environment, geochemistry, geomorphology, geophysics, hydrology, meteorology, petrology, photogrammetry, sedimentology and volcanology. Over 2,000 sources are covered. It is useful to note that Geobase contains records from these seven abstracting sources: Geological Abstracts, Geomechanics Abstracts, Geographical Abstracts: Human Geography, Geographical Abstracts: Physical Geography, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts, and Mineralogical Abstracts.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Abstracts
Coverage: Click here to show
|
America: History and Life
|
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present). Covers literature written since 1964. Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Abstracts :
Index
|
Historical Abstracts
|
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, books, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450-present. Covers literature written since 1954. Around 2,000 journals are indexed.
University of Denver Community
Content types:
Abstracts :
Index
|
|
|
| Web Searching |
|
| Google - Power Searching |
http://www.google.com/
Search Google by specifying the domain you want to search, thus forcing Google to bring choice results to the top. This is an excellent way to locate primary documents from international organizations, the U.S. government, or foreign governments.
- slavery human trafficking site:state.gov [limits to U.S. State Dept.]
- site:unodc.org slavery human trafficking [limits to UN Office on Drugs and Crime]
- slavery human trafficking site:fbi.gov [limits to U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation]
- slavery human trafficking site:gov.uk [limits to United Kingdom government sites]
- site:ru slavery human trafficking [limits to Russian sites]
|
| Google Scholar |
http://0-scholar.google.com.bianca.penlib.du.edu/
Google Scholar searches many peer-reviewed journal articles, government reports, and other scholarly sources. Look for the U. of Denver fulltext links to discover our licensed online content. If using from off-campus, please consult the Google Scholar Research Guide.
|
|
|
|
|