Penrose Library   University of Denver
Penrose Home / Finding What You Need / Services / About the Library / What’s New  
Printable View

Google Scholar: Finding Fulltext through U. of Denver Databases

Google Scholar, online at scholar.google.com, searches for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations and theses, preprints, technical reports, patents, and many other document types. It can be configured to work in conjunction with many of our full text databases.
Setting Google Scholar PreferencesLayout of Google Scholar Result ScreensWhat Does Google Scholar Search

Setting Google Scholar Preferences
You can set Google Scholar so that you can retrieve Penrose Library full text from off-campus.




Additionally, you can configure Google Scholar to export citations to your RefWorks account. Visit our RefWorks Tutorial to see how to set up your personal account.


Layout of Google Scholar Result Screens

  1. Title: Links to the abstract of the article, or when available on the web, the complete article.
  2. U. of Denver fulltext: Links to SerialsSolutions Article Linker to locate full text of electronic journals subscribed to by Penrose Library.
  3. Group of: Finds other articles included in this group of scholarly works, possibly preliminary, which you may be able to access. Examples include preprints, abstracts, conference papers or other adaptations.
  4. Cited by: Identifies other papers that have cited articles in the group.
  5. Related articles: Finds other papers that are similar to articles in this group.
  6. Web Search: Searches for information about this work on Google.
  7. Import into RefWorks: Exports this citation to your personal RefWorks account. See our RefWorks tutorial to see how to set up your RefWorks account.
  8. Library Catalog: Brings up the article linker screen so that you can search for this title in Peak, the Library Catalog.
  9. BL Direct: This is a fee-based service of the British Library. You shouldn't need to use this service since in most cases our Interlibrary Loan department can get the document for you.

What Does Google Scholar Search
It it difficult to determine with 100% accuracy all that Google Scholar searches. Here is a list of known sites:

American Association for the Advancement of Science [citations]
Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library(ACM)
American Physical Society publications (APS)
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers)
BL Direct (British Library)
Blackwell Publishers (books)
Blackwell Synergy
Cambridge Journals
cat.inist.fr of Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
CSA Illumina abstracts
doi.org (Digital Object Identifier database)
DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center [U.S.])
Elsevier
ERIC [abstracts]
extenze.eps
Google Books [selected]
HeinOnline
IEEE Xplore
InformaWorld
IngentaConnect
Inspec
IOP Science
MIT Press Journals
NASA Astrophysics Data System
NASA Technical Reports
Nature.com
New England Journal of Medicine & many indiv med journals
NRC Research Press (Canada)
Open WorldCat
Oxford University Press
Palgrave Journals
Patents
Project Euclid
Project Muse
PubMed
Questia
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
ResearchNow (Berkeley Electronic Press)
Royal College of Psychiatrists
Royal Society Publications
SourceOECD
SPIE Digital Library
Springer
Taylor & Frances Metapress
Univ. of Chicago Press Journals
Wiley



Christopher Brown
Reference Librarian/Government Documents Librarian
303.871.3404
Christopher.Brown@du.edu
http://www.du.edu/~cbrown/
Copyright University of Denver, Penrose Library, 27-Nov-06
PEAK Quick Search


Quick Links

View your account or renew books on My PEAK

Ask a research question

Ask a question

Search Prospector

Search WorldCat

Request items through Interlibrary Loan

Suggest a library purchase

Report Problems / Offer feedback

Site Map