Penrose Library   University of Denver
Penrose Home / Finding What You Need / Services / About the Library / What’s New  
Printable View

Physics Information Sources

This is a list of some of the best resources for physics research.
Starting PointsLibrary DatabasesFreely Available Web SitesReference Materials

Starting Points
Penrose Library Home Page http://library.du.edu

PEAK http://peak.du.edu
Library catalog of the University of Denver.

Prospector http://prospector.coalliance.org
This is a joint catalog of many academic and public institutions in Colorado...


Library Databases
SPIN Web (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
Abstracts from over 100 major physics and astronomy journals. Contains over 1.5 million research records. One can also access the full text of many of these journals because we have subscriptions. You can also search the SPIN database and the Scitation database at the same time. University of Denver Community
Content types:  Abstracts :  Selected Full Text  
Coverage: Click here to show
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides multidisciplinary literature coverage – including cited references – in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search backward and forward in time with cited reference searching, analyze results, search over 100 years of back files, and link to the full text. Data from 9,300 journals Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Over 13 million records are in the database.

Click here for a list of journals covered in the Science Citation Index.
Click here for a list of journals covered in the Social Sciences Citation Index
Click here for a list of journals covered in the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. University of Denver Community
Content types:  Abstracts :  Index  


Scitopia
The federated vertical search portal scitopia.org was created through the imagination and collaboration of over 20 leading science and technology societies and patent organizations. "Scitopia.org searches the entire electronic libraries of the leading voices in major science and technology disciplines and provides relevant results, without the noise of other Internet search engines." You can get to the full-text of most of the articles if you are on campus. Publicly Available
Content types:  Abstracts :  Selected Full Text  
PROLA : Physical Review Online Archive
Full text access to all eight of the American Physical Society journals, 1893-present. University of Denver Community
Content types:  Full Text  
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
This database contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included. MGA is produced by the American Meteorological Society and is published by CSA. University of Denver Community
Content types:  Abstracts :  Index  
Coverage: Click here to show
Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstract Service
Over 620,000 abstracts from thousands of journal and conference sources are provided. Publicly Available
Content types:  Abstracts :  Selected Full Text  
Coverage: Click here to show
Physics and Geophysics Abstract Service
Contains bibliographic information from several sources, including NASA's Scientific and Technical Information group (STI), journal publishers, SIMBAD, NED, and table of contents. Provides access to over 1,200,000 records. Publicly Available
Content types:  Abstracts  
Coverage: Click here to show
Access Science (McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology)
AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials—online and fully searchable. This provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, biographies, and more. University of Denver Community
Content types:  Full Text  
AIP Conference Proceedings
The American Institute of Physics Conference Proceedings report findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. They are valuable as topical status reports providing quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature. Penrose purchases some of these books, or they can be retrieved through Prospector. Many of the papers can be downloaded through Academic Search Premier. Publicly Available
Content types:  Abstracts :  Index  
INSPEC
INSPEC is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than seven million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Contact Joe Kraus, 303-871-4586 or jokraus@du.edu for an appointment to search the database. University of Denver Community
Content types:  Abstracts :  Index  
Coverage: Click here to show
SciFinder Scholar Web [Chemical Abstracts]
Provides the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information. It contains more than 22,000,000 records. One can access information such as: references from journals and patents, substance data, chemical reactions, and more. They have recently included cited references that link to older abstracts. Download the software here. University of Denver Community
Content types:  Abstracts  
Coverage: Click here to show

Freely Available Web Sites
This provides links to a whole bunch of freely available Web sites.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Publicly Available
Content types:  Selected Full Text  
Physics Web http://physicsweb.org/
One of the best repositories for links to informations souces in physics. Published by the British "Institute of Physics".

Physics Central http://www.physicscentral.com/
The American Physical Society represents some 42,000 physicists, and most of their work centers on scientific meetings and publications - the primary ways that physicists communicate with each other. With Physics Central, they communicate the excitement and importance of physics to everyone.

e-Print Archive
Physics, astronomy, mathematics and computer science pre-print articles. Publicly Available
Content types:  Full Text :  Abstracts  
Materials Properties Locator Database http://thermodex.lib.utexas.edu/
This database contains records for printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. You can enter both a type of compound and a property, and ThermoDex will return a list of handbooks that might contain this data.

NIST WebBook http://webbook.nist.gov/
Thermochemical data for over 5000 organic and small inorganic compounds. Reaction thermochemistry data for over 8000 reactions. IR spectra for over 7500 compounds. Mass spectra for over 10,000 compounds. UV/Vis spectra for over 400 compounds. Electronic and vibrational spectra for over 3000 compounds. Constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data) for over 600 compounds. Ion energetics data for over 14,000 compounds. Thermophysical property data for 16 fluids.

NIST Data Gateway http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/
Provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.

SPIE Proceedings Database
SPIE -- The International Society for Optical Engineering, provides a database that abstracts articles published in their conference proceedings. We have some of these proceedings papers in our stacks. It is recommend to search their database for papers, not volume titles. Publicly Available
Content types:  Abstracts  
American Institute of Physics (AIP) http://www.aip.org

American Physical Society (APS) http://www.aps.org/

Institute of Physics (IoP) http://www.iop.org


Reference Materials
This is a small sample in call number order.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QB14 .E534 2001
4 volumes.

Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC5 .D485 2001

Dictionary of Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC5 .D538 2004
Volumes 1-4

Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC5.E543 1991
23 Volumes plus 2 update volumes. Index for volumes 1-19.

Encyclopedia of Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC5 .E545 2005
2 volumes.

Guide to information sources in the physical sciences
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC5.35 .S74 2000

Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC20 .E63 2006
5 volumes.

AIP Physics desk reference
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC61 .P49 2003

Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC61 .W67 2000

Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC173 .S67 2006

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Condensed Matter Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC176.A3 E5913 2004

Encyclopedia of Acoustics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC221.5.E53 1997 V.1-4

Dictionary of Material Science and High Energy Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QC772 .D57 2001

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
See PEAK Catalog
Reference
QD65 .H3
We have online access to the Handbook via http://www.hbcpnetbase.com/



Joe Kraus
Science & Engineering Librarian
303.871.4586
Joseph.Kraus@du.edu
http://www.du.edu/~jokraus
Copyright University of Denver, Penrose Library, 14-Jan-05
PEAK Quick Search


Quick Links

View your account or renew books on My PEAK

Ask a research question

Ask a question

Search Prospector

Search WorldCat

Request items through Interlibrary Loan

Suggest a library purchase

Report Problems / Offer feedback

Site Map