Penrose Library   University of Denver
Penrose Home / Finding What You Need / Services / About the Library / What’s New  
Printable View

Planetary and Solar Astronomy

Presented at the "Winner's Circle of Best Science Websites" session at the 2004 SLA Conference in Nashville.
General & Educational WebsitesThe SunThe PlanetsOther stuff

General & Educational Websites
Lunar and Planetary Institute http://www.lpi.usra.edu
LPI offers connections to programs and resources for educators, scientists, and the general public, including teacher workshops, student programs, scientist training in education, educational products and resources, and related Web sites. See the Universities Space Research Association http://www.usra.edu for more information.

The Explore! program - http://www.lpi.usra.edu/education/EPO/explore.html - will distribute basic space science information and related NASA materials throughout highly leveraged public library systems.



Lunar and Planetary Laboratory http://www.lpl.arizona.edu
LPL (within the Department of Planetary Sciences at the University of Arizona) was founded in 1960 by the eminent planetary astronomer, Gerard Kuiper. It is dedicated to the common goal of understanding and teaching about the formation and evolution of the planetary system. Its faculty, research staff, and graduate student body are drawn from the diverse backgrounds of astronomy, chemistry, geology, physics, and engineering. One of the things that have for public outreach is a Space Imagery Center - http://www.lpl.arizona.edu/SIC/.

LPL also hosts the Website for the Association of Lunar and Planetary Observers.



Center for Earth and Planetary Studies http://www.nasm.si.edu/research/ceps/
CEPS is the scientific research unit within the Collections and Research Department of the National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution. CEPS performs original research and outreach activities on topics covering planetary science, terrestrial geophysics, and the remote sensing of environmental change. Take a look at their "Exploring the Planets" exhibit - http://www.nasm.si.edu/research/ceps/etp/.

The Nine Planets http://www.nineplanets.org/
The Nine Planets is an overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of each of the planets and moons in our solar system. Each page has text and images, some have sounds and movies, most provide references to additional related information.

The Website is hosted by the Students for the Exploration and Development of Space - http://www.seds.org/.



Planetary Science at the NSSDC http://nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov/planetary/
The National Space Science Data Center (NSSDC) at Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland is NASA's primary deep archive site for planetary and lunar data obtained from spacecraft missions (both NASA and non-NASA), as well as the primary center for distribution of planetary data and images to educators and the general public.

Planetary Data System http://pds.jpl.nasa.gov
The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements. The PDS is sponsored by NASA's Office of Space Science. Its purpose is to ensure the long-term usability of NASA data and to stimulate advanced research. PDS is continually upgrading and updating its archives, to better serve the needs of its user communities. Scientists will use this to obtain raw data. For example, one can download raw data from the Galileo Probe who visited Jupiter a couple years back.

Welcome to the Planets http://pds.jpl.nasa.gov/planets/
This is a collection of many of the best images from NASA's planetary exploration program. The collection has been extracted from the interactive program "Welcome to the Planets" which was distributed on the Planetary Data System Educational CD-ROM Version 1.5 in December 1995. It has also been updated with the addition of more recent images.


The Sun
National Solar Observatory http://www.nso.edu
National Solar Observatory is operated by the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy under a cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation, for the benefit of the astronomical community.

Solar Data Analysis Center http://umbra.nascom.nasa.gov
The Solar Data Analysis Center is at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland.

Solar & Heliospheric Observatory (SOHO) http://sohowww.nascom.nasa.gov
The SOHO (Solar & Heliospheric Observatory) project is being carried out by the European Space Agency (ESA) and the US National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) as a cooperative effort between the two agencies in the framework of the Solar Terrestrial Science Program (STSP) comprising SOHO and a number of other programs.

150-Foot Solar Tower - Mt Wilson http://www.astro.ucla.edu/~obs/intro.html
This is operated by the Division of Astronomy and Astrophysics at UCLA. Provides very current data.

Big Bear Solar Observatory http://www.bbso.njit.edu
The Big Bear Solar Observatory (BBSO) located in Big Bear Lake, Ca. is operated by the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT). Their main interest is the physics of the Sun and they observe solar phenomena every day with the dedicated telescopes and instruments. One can download relatively recent images.


The Planets
Mercury http://www.psrd.hawaii.edu/Jan97/MercuryUnveiled.html
Planetary Science Research Discoveries (PSRD) is an educational site sharing the latest research on meteorites, planets, and other solar system bodies being made by NASA-sponsored scientists. The web site is supported by the Cosmochemistry Program of NASA's Office of Space Science and by Hawai`i Space Grant Consortium.

Venus Transit 2004 http://sunearth.gsfc.nasa.gov/sunearthday/2004/
NASA has entered into partnership with the Astronomical League to provide and support education events all over the country including schools, museums and planetariums, sun parties, and community and civic association events.

Venus http://www.windows.ucar.edu/tour/link=/venus/venus.html
"Windows to the Universe" is a user-friendly learning system covering the Earth and Space sciences for use by the general public. Provided by the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR).

Earth http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/space/solarsystem/earth/
The BBC provides a travel guide to the Solar System.

Exploring the Moon http://www.lpi.usra.edu/expmoon/lunar_missions.html

Mars Exploration Program http://mars.jpl.nasa.gov
Great starting point for reliable information. The Exploratorium Museum in San Francisco has an online exhibit for Mars. They have the most recent raw data from Spirit (http://qt.exploratorium.edu/mars/spirit) and Opportunity (http://qt.exploratorium.edu/mars/opportunity).

Mars - Unofficial Sources http://www.mms.com/map.jsp
Some other Websites where one could be skeptical of the information:



Jupiter http://www.nineplanets.org/jupiter.html
Good reputable source of information.

Saturn http://www.planetary.org/learn/solarsystem/saturn.html
From the Planetary Society.

Uranus http://hubblesite.org/gallery/showcase/solar_system/p7.shtml
Have to include something from the Hubble.

Neptune http://csep10.phys.utk.edu/astr161/lect/neptune/neptune.html
Good educational site.

Pluto http://pluto.jhuapl.edu
New Horizons Pluto-Kuiper Belt mission is designed to help us understand worlds at the edge of our solar system by making the first reconnaissance of Pluto and Charon – a "double planet" system and the last in our solar system to be visited by spacecraft. The mission would then visit one or more Kuiper Belt Objects, in the region beyond Neptune. Scheduled to launch in January 2006.

Sedna ?? http://www.gps.caltech.edu/~mbrown/sedna/
On 15 March 2004, astronomers from Caltech, Gemini Observatory, and Yale University announced the discovery of the coldest, most distant object known to orbit the sun. The object was found at a distance 90 times greater than that from the sun to the earth -- about 3 times further than Pluto, the most distant known planet.


Other stuff
Asteroids and Comets http://nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov/planetary/planets/asteroidpage.html
Good starting point.

Comet Observation Home Page http://encke.jpl.nasa.gov

Extrasolar Planets http://planetquest.jpl.nasa.gov



Joe Kraus
Science & Engineering Librarian
303.871.4586
Joseph.Kraus@du.edu
http://www.du.edu/~jokraus
Copyright University of Denver, Penrose Library, 02-Jun-04
PEAK Quick Search


Quick Links

View your account or renew books on My PEAK

Ask a research question

Ask a question

Search Prospector

Search WorldCat

Request items through Interlibrary Loan

Suggest a library purchase

Report Problems / Offer feedback

Site Map